How to Watch Gintama in Order and Which Gintama Episodes Should I Not Watch?

Originally published in the early 2000s in the Weekly Shonen Jump, Gintama was developed by Hideaki Sorachi. Over 55 million copies have been printed of this manga series, making it one of the most popular of all time.

The show’s premise is straightforward (fairly): Gintoki Sakata and his pals Shinpachi Shimura and Kagura are trying to get rent money by freelancing as samurai. In addition, aliens called Amanto have occupied Tokyo. The regular fare, if you will.

The anime, which premiered in December 2003 and finished in June 2019, was equally as successful in the marketplace as the manga, with home entertainment releases often placing in the top 10 of DVD and Blu-ray sales charts. Similarly, the Naruto anime adaption and the first Gintama anime series have both been credited with driving up sales of anime and manga in countries outside of Japan.

Learn the recommended viewing sequence for this lengthy anime (at least it’s not as lengthy as One Piece!) by reading on!

How to Watch Gintama in Order?

while the fact that certain Gintama seasons are labeled as “sequel series,” all of them are part of the same program while having somewhat different branding to reflect the show’s evolving tone and style.

Here is the recommended viewing sequence for the whole Gintama series:

  • Gintama episodes 1 – 57
  • Gintama: The Movie (this serves as a remake of episodes 58 – 61)
  • Gintama episodes 62 – 201
  • Gintama’ episodes 1 – 51
  • Gintama’ Enchousen episodes 1 – 53
  • Gintama: The Movie: The Final Chapter: Be Forever Yorozuya
  • Gintama° episodes 1 – 51
  • Gintama. episodes 1 – 12
  • Gintama.: Slip Arc episodes 1 – 13
  • Gintama.: Silver Soul Arc 1 – 26
  • Gintama: The Semi-Final
  • Gintama: The Final

Which Gintama Episodes Should I Not Watch?

Which Gintama Episodes Should I Not Watch

Considering the large number of episodes in the anime, the amount of ‘filler’ episodes is surprisingly minimal; but, as is the case with any series, there are always a few that may be skipped over in order to get to the meat of the plot.

Since the first two episodes of the original Gintama series serve more as a celebration of the manga’s adaptation to animation than as a foundation for the series as a whole, you may safely skip them.

You may also avoid episodes 58–61 if you want to because they’ve already been remade in Gintama: The Movie. It’s up to you if you want to see them, however, The Movie has far superior animation.

You can also read about other similar articles by visiting the links below:

About The Author

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top